Video Production – First attempt at interviewing and filming indoors

First of all, I’d like to thank the Northwest Indiana Boardgamers Association for letting me practice filming at our weekly meetup. It’s a great group and is definitely worth checking out if you live in the NWI region and are interested in board and card games. A special thanks goes out to Nick and Eric, who were my two test subjects for filming interviews.

 

I learned several things today in my attempt to document a night at the NWIBGA.

#1 – You need very low aperture to film in a low-light interior setting unless you have your own light source, which I did not at the time:

Way too dark with the lens made for video, even at the lowest possible aperture. I need a light source

Way too dark with the lens made for video, even at the lowest possible aperture. I need a light source

Much better lighting after switching to the prime lens with a lower minimum aperture

Much better lighting after switching to the prime lens with a lower minimum aperture

#2 – Autofocus can be problematic when something or someone passes in front of what you’re trying to shoot. Stick to manual focus if this is a possibility:

Limited focus range

Limited focus range

A guy walked in front of the camera which put autofocus out of whack

A guy walked in front of the camera which put autofocus out of whack

#3 – In a low-light setting, it is very hard to tell using just the preview on the camera, if your focus is good during an interview, especially if you’re standing to the side while asking questions:

Out of focus and too dark

Out of focus and too dark

Better focus than first interview, but still too dark

Better focus than first interview, but still too dark

#4 – Walking while filming makes for a shaky video, but keeping focus where you want it isn’t as hard as I thought:

Attempting to film while walking starts here

Attempting to film while walking starts here

This came out better than I expected with the players in focus and foreground blurred. The middle of my walking shot.

This came out better than I expected with the players in focus and foreground blurred. The middle of my walking shot.

The end of my walking shot. I managed to keep him in focus the whole time, but the video itself was a little shaky

The end of my walking shot. I managed to keep him in focus the whole time, but the video itself was a little shaky

Leave a Reply

