Arcades in China (minipost)

IMG_1277 Arcades in America suck. We’re so incredibly lucky to live near some decent ones, but overall I now know why people say they’re dead in America. I visited about 10 different arcades in China, and nearly every one of them was better than any arcade I have been to in the US (with exceptions being GGA for old school and GameWorks Schaumburg for rhythm).

IMG_1274IMG_1279

In Harbin, China alone, there are 86 different arcades, each of which has a whole row of fighting games, a section for music games, a bunch of connected racers, and a ton of other awesome games. Best of all, there are ALWAYS people there playing stuff, so it’s really easy to walk up and get a match of Tekken 6 or KOF 97/98, or even SF4 (Vanilla, primarily). Also, some of the arcades gave two tokens for 1RMB (6RMB is a about $1.00). So, that’s 12 tokens for a dollar, and most of the games were only 2-3 tokens.

What’s really insane is that most of the arcades we went to were a bit run down but were still more up-to-date than ones here. I got to play against some really good players in KOF who beat me terribly, but I was able to hold my own in Tekken, and I was (sadly) the best at SF4 at most of the arcades I went to.

I also got to play a bunch of DJ Max Technika, JuBeat, Pump it Up, Taiko, and a Chinese music game called Muzibox that’s like Keyboardmania mixed with JuBeat. Somehow, I did not see a single DDR machine in any of the places we went, but there’s a really popular dancing game there that’s like a combination of Pump with Kinect-style motion controls.

Leave a Reply

